University of Texas at El Paso

El Paso, TX
 The NCIN scholars came from a diverse area and intend to become leaders in their communities when they join the workforce.

Grant Years:

Degrees Conferred: 
Scholarships Awarded: 


Round 3: 2010 – 2011
Aracely Hernandez
Jason Longwell
Edith Perales
Kenneth Stice III
Heather Tantimonaco
Round 4: 2011 – 2012
Silvia Olivares
Juan Reyna
Cristina Rodriguez
Rubi Santiesteban
Rosalyn Taijeron
Round 5: 2012 – 2013
Elen Gutierrez
Daniel Herrera
Jossue Herrera
Savannah Laneaux
Jesus Moncada
Janet Reck
Edwardo Rivas
Jose Ruiz
Lili Ruiz
Rachel Stewart
Mark Tipton
Round 6: 2013 – 2014
Holly Alva
Maria Barbosa
Matthew Castanon
Otto Madrigal
Librado Rodriguez
Hilda Terrazas
Katherine Torres
Karina Valdespino
Jose Varela
Round 7: 2014 – 2015
Raul Alba
Byron Bass
Esther Garcia
Matthew Lyons
Ana Meza
Alonso Morales
Marie Nguyen
Rebecka Ortega
Cristina Quinones
Briana Rey
Ronald Torres
Jacqueline Vera
 The University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) is the nation’s only research university with a Mexican- American majority student body. The school aims to build a more diverse nursing workforce to meet the health care needs of the country’s growing ethnic minority population. During the NCIN program, scholars have participated in an orientation program to help promote student success, and in clinical experiences with community partners such as the Del Sol Medical Center, Las Palmas Medical Center, William Beaumont Army Medical Center, and Tenet Healthcare. The program has been so successful that the university committed to sustaining its accelerated BSN program, even after NCIN funding ends. UTEP was able to leverage its NCIN grant to receive scholarship funding from private donors for students in the Nursing BSN Fast Track program.