Oregon Health & Science University

Portland, OR
 Across the school, the NCIN project increased awareness, focused attention, and enhanced the commitment to diversifying the student body. It has also contributed to the development of a school of nursing diversity action plan.

Grant Years:

Degrees Conferred: 
Scholarships Awarded: 


 Round 5: 2012 – 2013
Scott Bartle
Philip Bergreen
Corinna Beyer
Annie Burton Leary
Brett Stendell
Round 6: 2013 – 2014
Shane Ausprey
Ana Chamberlain
Danielle Chiero
Amanda Clauson
Vianney Hernandez-Cortes
Esther Nedrow
MinJung Park
Marcos Sanchez
Megan Simpkins
Sean Sweeney
Round 7: 2014 – 2015
Tiffany Chau
Lindsey Duhamel
Margaux Forsch
Vaughn Kelly
Nhat Le
Tania Quispe Diaz
 NCIN scholarships were awarded to students on two university campuses that offered accelerated baccalaureate programs. Some activities were completed together, including monthly leadership meetings, and others were held on the separate campuses with local engagement. Scholars from both campuses attended the National Student Nurses Association meeting and connected for a leadership meeting and social activities. Scholars become a tightly knit group of students who supported each other. Mentoring was a challenge on one campus, in Ashland, where there were no students from previous cohorts to serve as mentors. Instead, those students paired with mentors who had a second degree but were enrolled in the three-year baccalaureate program.


In her role as director of the Future of Nursing: Campaign for Action, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Senior Adviser for Nursing Susan B. Hassmiller, RN, PhD, FAAN, travels across the country to meet with leaders who are working to transform nursing in their states.