University of Mississippi Medical Center

Jackson, MS
Based on the success of the accelerated BSN program on its Jackson campus, the school of nursing introduced a new 12-month accelerated BSN program on its Oxford campus, which increased accelerated BSN student enrollment by 50 percent.


Grant Years:

Degrees Conferred: 
Scholarships Awarded: 


 Round 2: 2009 – 2010
Iesha Blaylock
Danielle Bogan
Cheryl Burton
Josh Goeglein
Robert Harvey
Yee-Chen Hoekema
Dankenya Mcdavis
Andrea Vaughn
Monica White
Round 3: 2010 – 2011
Jeanie Chu
Zach Hays
Ginger Holland
Sarah Milnor
Meghan Sebren
Lakesia Sutton
Joseph Wells
Aaron Whittington
Latoya Woodberg
Laura Yeatts
Round 4: 2011 – 2012
Amanda Castle
Samuel Dickinson
Emily Entrekin
Laurie Foster
Melissa Klamm
Sheneka Sampson
Clark Smith
William Stewart
Katherine Taylor
Qianwen Williamson
Round 5: 2012 – 2013
Tamika Broome
Dominiquekal Brown
Ebony Talise Brown
Jeremy Clark
Lindsey Cooper
Alan Gray
DeAngeli Holmes
John Sullivan
Jonathan Vinson
Kim Vu
Round 6: 2013 – 2014
Shemekia Braddock
Olivia Clark
Shakeita Hodge
Marcus McKenzie
Tamara Medley
Lakesia Sims
Youngsin Son
Round 7: 2014 – 2015
Setedra Anderson
Manikia Boyd-Liburd
Jasmine Fisher
Aurea Toledo
 The University of Mississippi Medical Center has the only accelerated BSN program in the state. The NCIN program has helped the school build a strong leadership development program, which includes multiple opportunities for scholars to meet and learn from nursing leaders in Mississippi. The scholars also engage in peer-to-peer mentoring with traditional BSN students.


Like many New Careers in Nursing Scholars, Jeremy Clark did not originally plan to become a nurse.
In August of 2013, he had the distinction of being the first African American male NCIN scholar to graduate from the University of Mississippi Medical Center (UMMC) School of Nursing.