Marquette University

Milwaukee, WI
NCIN funds allowed school officials to provide more resources to support the scholars’ academic success, and spurred officials to initiate strategies to train students to become nurse leaders.

Grant Years:

Degrees Conferred: 
Scholarships Awarded: 


 Round 4: 2011 – 2012
Zachary Dion
Stephanie Escobar
Matthew Greenwood
Fatia Johnson
Dionna McFerrin
Round 6: 2013 – 2014
Deseray Aguirre
Antonia Shipp
Kuo Sheng Yang
Round 7: 2014 – 2015
Jake Elwood
Cristine Paniagua
Nicholas Pflum
Eli Yang
Shula Yang
 Milwaukee’s population is 55 percent non-white, a statistic that underscores the need for a diverse health care workforce. Diversity in nursing continues to be a priority for Marquette’s nursing school, and the NCIN program has helped it achieve its goal to diversify its student body. NCIN scholarships enabled the school to recruit students from backgrounds underrepresented in nursing. These scholars share a commitment to enhancing the quality of patient care and improving the health care systems in which they work. The program also enabled the school to expose the scholars to leaders and mentors from the local nursing community. The school paid for scholars to attend a meeting of the local Sigma Theta Tau International chapter and paired scholars with former scholars and faculty members focused on each student’s area of practice interest.